Dragon on my Shoulder – collection of poems for children

Long awaited collection of poems for children which I am so pleased is finally finished! Here is one of my favourites that inspired the title:

Dragon on my shoulder

I need some coffee to start me on my day

Sugar sweet and thrice time stirred

My pet curled up within my hair

Breathes warm into my ear

 

I smile

It warms my neck

So close its gurgle no-one else can hear

 

Some take sandwiches, a bit of cold rice

Their tin of caffeine or a flagon of hot tea

But I am a smuggler of dreams into work

With my little pet dragon in my briefcase

 

And when the day is done

And the in-tray war is won

We will ride the metal dragon home

 

We’ll snuggle up in front of the magic box

                                …I’ll toss the corn kernels into the air

                                …and my pet dragon will make us popcorn

One comment

  1. Anurag Singh Bhardwaj · March 20, 2017

    Furnished lines..

Leave a comment